falling apart in spring 2024: the color grunge aesthetic

Ok. The clean girl reign is over. I think we can all agree on that. I personally have been over it ever since its origin (who needs more aesthetics catered to glorify whiteness in this day and age?), and so I celebrate its fall from grace. To celebrate the rise of “messy” aesthetics (think mob wife, rock star girlfriend, etc.) I wish to share my contribution to this lookbook.

Let me present the falling apart edit: color grunge for your Spring 2024 fashion consideration.

Think Pat McGrath Maison Margiela Spring/Summer 2024 glass skin (if you know you know, if you don’t, check out this article), messy braids with charms littered in them, mismatched patterns on shapes that slouch off the body. Think lace lingerie on top of oversized office shirts from the men’s Goodwill section. Fishnets and safety pins- pillars of grunge fashion, but in bright jewel tones, emeralds, fire reds, and creams.

Are you starting to get it? Good. Here’s the lookbook:

The beauty of this aesthetic is it’s connection to both 90s Vivienne Westwood, Y2k pattern mixing, and what I like to call “French Revolution Rococo” which is the dirtying of the Rococo aesthetic popular in the 1760s, right before the revolution.

Now, the key to achieving this look requires a taste for maximalism and an appriciation for the art of layering. This is not an expensive aesthetic to achieve. This is what I like to call a “thrift store” aesthetic. Most of the items you need for color grunge you can find in your local thrift. These are the staples of this look:

  • Knitwear (think specifically knit legwarmers to layer over boots, chunky sweaters, and fingerless gloves)
  • Asymetrical Maxi skirts (ruffles are a plus, as are tartan / plaid patterns)
  • Off the shoulder tops (but not, I repeat NOT, the 2014 cold shoulder tops! think Regina George’ burn book revenge look style black top for inspo)
  • Hair clips and charms galore! (these are great because you can find vintage bead bracelets at the thrift and deconstruct them into hair charms to achieve the perfect grunge hair- this is also versatile to all hair types!)

Now, as far as makeup is concerned, that is not my technical expertise, however, I can tell you that messy bright eyeshadow, large eyelashes, and exaggerated undereyes are IN.

Here are some links to tutorials regarding the style makeup in this post!

That is all for this post lovelies, sorry for being so long between updates- life has been crazy! I hope you love this aesthetic as much as I do. I’ve been noticing these trends for a while, and it finally clicked with the Maison Margeila show last month. If you haven’t read about it I highly recommend. It wasn’t just ground-breaking makeup-wise, it was an overall incredible display of true fashion! You can read about it here.

xoxo, Isabella



Leave a comment